Taz

An area to discuss K9 Training - Airscenting issues.

Taz

Postby Claire » Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:15 pm

Taz, my super-brain collie/labrador is 1.5 yrs old and Robin and I have been training her to search since I got her three months ago. She's picked things up stupidly quickly and is getting a bit too clever for her own good! We have just progressed onto doing mainly un-seen searches over a distance of about 400-500m with her. It takes her a minute or so to pick up the right scent on the ground, but as soon as she does, she's off like a rocket! The problem with this now is that if the search includes a couple of track junctions in between, I've no idea which way she's gone and have to wait until she's found and come back to get me before I can keep moving.
My question is: How can I slow her down, but not ruin her enthusiasm to find??!!
Claire

Re: Taz

Postby Daryl » Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:14 pm

Is Robin using the same route as Taz? I.e. do you think that she is following ground sent in rather than using air scent? If so try getting Robin to come in to the search area using a different route so that she can not follow his ground sent. Maybe try using a different person than Robin as your MISPER.

Some of the dogs that I have helped train that have had a similar problem soon learnt to come back and start again from the begining as the handlers didn't walk any further than the first track junction or obstacle that the handler wanted searching until the dog had searched it. In addition the handlers took their dogs for a short walk prior to training as this seemed to help too.
Daryl Toogood
President
Berkshire Search & Rescue Dogs

"I can explain it in Dog, but you only listen in Human."
-- Gaspode the wonder dog
Daryl

Postby Pete » Sat Feb 09, 2008 5:26 pm